HPRG 59th Meeting: Polymers for Sustainability and Energy

Sunday 28th April - Thursday 2nd May 2019
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Pott Shrigley, Cheshire

Conference Organisers: Professors Charlotte Williams and Ken Lewtas


Marc Hillmyer (University of Minnesota)
"Degradable block polyesters from renewable resources"

Karen Wooley (Texas A & M University)
"Natural Product Based Polymers that Address Food-Energy-Water Challenges"

Stefan Mecking (University of Konstanz)
"Monomers and Main Chain Functional Polyethylenes from Catalytic Upgrading of Seed and Microalgae"

Edmund Carnahan (Dow)
"Tuning Polymer Properties for More Sustainable Solutions: The Development of Olefin Block Copolymers"

Peter Scott (University of Warwick)
"New Polyolefin-Polar Block Copolymers. From Concept to Business"

James Hedrick (IBM)
"Upcycling of Poly(ethylene terephthalate) and Polycarbonate Refuse to Advanced Therapeutics"

Andrew Dove (University of Birmingham)
"Chemical Design of 'Smart' Degradable Biomaterials"

Michael Shaver (University of Edinburgh)
"Monomer Design for Functional and Sustainable Degradable Polyesters"

Hugo Bronstein (University of Cambridge)
"Precise Control of Excited States in Conjugated Polymers"

Kathryn Beers (NIST)
"Polymer Characterization of Plastic Debris in the Central Pacific or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Smelly Trash"

Cor Koning (DSM)
"Sustainable Coating Systems Based on Polycarbonates Made From CO2 and epoxides"

Nitash Balsara (University of California, Berkeley)
"Ohm's Law for Polymer Electrolytes"

Peter Bruce (University of Oxford)
"Lithium Ion Batteries: Where Do We Go From Here?"

Natalie Stingelin (University of Edinburgh)
"Phase Diagrammes of Complex Materials: From the Katana, Swiss Chocolates to Organic Energy-Harvesting Device Materials"

Ludwik Leibler (Ecole Supérieur de Physique et Chimie Industrielles)
"Vitrimers concept and plastics reuse"


The High Polymer Research Group is grateful to the following companies and organisations for their support of our 2019 conference Polymers for Sustainability and Energy, our 59th annual conference:

Gold sponsor:

Silver sponsors:

Bronze sponsors:

© The High Polymer Research Group 1960-2019, Privacy policy design by www.cookandkaye.co.uk 2016